LONGO | Print | Finishing | Cover

Cover

Hardcoversoftcover,  flexcover, brochure binding, brochure, paperback, pocket book: the terms we printers use for covers are often a little confusing. Sometimes there are only nuances in the types of binding, yet there are clear differences between all these different types of covers.

Which cover for what product?

An overview of the best-known cover variants:

  • Hardcover, often shortened to HC. Here the spine, front and back of the book consist of one element: the block is mounted and glued to the front and back. Find out more about the printing and production of hardcovers here
  • Softcover: in everyday use we mostly speak of pocket books as softcovers. However there are numerous other softcover bindings. Find out more about the printing and production of softcovers here.  

Cover and content: consistency inside and outside

The decision regarding the book format, cover and binding is made long before printing begins. Ideally the author, publisher or client will already have a clear conception of how this is to be done. We then simply advise during the book production process on “consistency inside and outside”: a fit-for-purpose cover to match the content and overall design of the book. And, last but not least, to ensure reader satisfaction!

Newsletter abonnieren

LONGO | Print | Finishing | Cover

Cover

Hardcover, Softcover, Flexcover, Broschur, Broschüre, Paperback, Taschenbuch: Die Begriffe, die wir als Drucker für Cover verwenden, sind oft ein wenig verwirrend. Manchmal geht es bei den Einbandarten nur um Nuancen und doch gibt es klare Unterschiede zwischen all diesen Cover-Varianten.

Welches Cover wofür?

Die bekanntesten Cover-Varianten im Überblick:

  • Hardcover, oft abgekürzt mit HC. Hier bestehen Buchrücken und Buchvorder- und Rückseite aus einem Stück, der Buchblock wird „eingehängt“ und mit mit Vorder- und Rückseite verleimt. Mehr zu Druck und Produktion von Hardcover erfahren Sie hier.
  • Softcover: im alltäglichen Gebrauch spricht man meist von den Taschenbüchern als Softcover. Doch es gibt noch viele andere Softcover-Einbände. Mehr zu Softcover und zu Druck und Produktion erfahren Sie hier.

Cover und Inhalt: Einheit von innen und außen

Die Entscheidung über Buchformat, Einband und passende Bindung fällt lange vor Druckbeginn. Im Idealfall hat der Autor, Verlag oder Auftraggeber bereits eine klare Vorstellung davon, wohin ihn sein Weg führen soll. Dann geht es bei uns in der Beratung zur Buchherstellung nur noch um „Einheit von innen und außen“: einen inhalts- und zweckgemäßen Einband und die entsprechende Gesamtgestaltung des Buches. Und nicht zuletzt natürlich die Zufriedenheit des Lesers!

Newsletter abonnieren